The museum was founded in 1969, and opened for visitors in 1971.
The estate consists of a wooden private residence and a garden. The house was built in the middle of the 19th century land ocated in the old centre of Kazan. Two prominent chemists lived here - A.E.Arbuzov (1877-1968), the founder of chemistry of organophosphorus compounds, and his son - B.A.Arbuzov (1903-1991).
The museum has its unique features and authenticity of the household conditions. The interiour was kept untouched from Arbuzovs time. The furniture, library, the pictures painted by A.E.Arbuzov, snapshots, manuscripts of scientific papers and lectures, correspondence of the scientists with their relatives, colleagues etc., vividly represent the time in which Arbuzovs family lived, and help to imagine the remarkable people in their domestic athmosphere. Even the wallpaper is still from the last home improvement done by Arbuzov's.
The collection of the museum contain more than 20 thousand genuine artefacts. They are connected with Alexander Arbuzov and his children (Boris, Yurij and Irina), with the well known architect K.L.Mjufke (the brother-in-law of Alexander Arbuzov), and with other relatives and pupils of the famous family.
For more informationn visit http://www.iopc.ru/document/1366620546.html
Source: some info used from http://www.russianmuseums.info