The population of the Republic of Tatarstan numbers some 3768,5 million (2005), including 2.7 million of urban and 1.0 million of rural population. In Tatarstan there are 43 districts, 20 cities and towns, 21 urban settlements and 897 rural settlements. The average density is 55,4 persons per km² (2005). Tatarstan is a multi-ethnic republic made up of more than 70 ethnic groups. Two major ethnic groups are the Tatars (52,9% of the total population) and the Russians (39,5%). Due to some historical reasons only one-fourth of all the Tatars living in the former USSR are residents of the Republic of Tatarstan. Large groups of the Tatars are residents of the Volga-Urals Basin, West Siberia, Donbass (Ukraine), Kazakhstan, Middle Asia states, and Moscow and St. Petersburg. The Tatar communities can be found also in many countries of Europe, Asia, America and Australia.