Official languages of the Republic of Tatarstan are the Tatar language (Turkic group of Altai language family) and Russian (Slavic group of Indo-European language family). The overwhelming majority of the Tatars speaks Russian, and Russian language is still predominant in commercial circles. English and other European languages are known by small part of the population (BSE).